Chattanooga Music Club May 2017 Chattanoogamusicclub.org

# UPCOMING EVENTS

#### Sunday, May 21, 2:30 p.m.

Former Scholarship Recipients in Concert First Centenary United Methodist Church

#### Tuesday, June 27, 7:00 p.m.

11th Annual Patriotic Concert Memorial Auditorium John Schwandt, Organist Director, American Organ Institute University of Oklahoma

# TRIBUTE TO EVELYN GIBBS

The members of the Chattanooga Music Club honored longtime member, **Evelyn Gibbs**, at the April 9, 2017, meeting. Beth Long asked Evelyn to come forward with the assistance of her nephew, David Gibbs. President Pat Starke presented her with a bouquet of red roses. Then Beth read a beautiful tribute to Evelyn listing many of her accomplishments over the years. Beth addressed some of her inspiring remarks to the young performers who were scholarship winners.

Many thanks to **Evelyn Gibbs** for her work in the CMC over the years!!!

# <u>S C H O L A R S H I P</u>

# WINNERS !!!

CMC Scholarship Auditions were held Sunday, March 19, 2017, at Brainerd United Methodist Church. Janet Sump chaired the Scholarship Committee. The winners listed below received awards totalling almost \$15,000.

The Chattanooga Music Club Scholarship Juliette Blais, Cello, \$5,000

Drs. Hilda and Andres Alisago Scholarship Spencer Elliott, Saxophone, \$1,500

> Opal Rhea Swaity Scholarship Caitlin Brown, Soprano, \$3,000

Dorothy Price Cobb Martin Memorial Scholarship Spencer Elliot, Saxophone, \$1,000

Adm. Vance & Mrs. (Charlynne) Fry Merit Scholarship Caitlin Brown, Soprano, \$1,000

Fletcher Bright Strings Scholarship Juliette Blais, Cello, \$1,000

Jay Craven Clarinet Scholarship Elijah Wyatt, Clarinet, \$1,000

Edwin Lemare Organ Scholarship David Stultz, Organ, \$1,250

#### **2017 SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS**



Janet Sump, Scholarship Chair; Elijah Wyatt, Craven Scholarship; Spencer Elliott, Alisago & Martin Scholarships; Caitlin Brown, Swaity & Fry Scholarships; Juliette Blais, CMC & Bright Scholarships; David Schultz, Lemare Scholarship



### PATRIOTIC ORGAN CONCERT, Memorial Auditorium, June 27, 2017

Dr. John Schwandt, organist, will accompany the Buster Keaton silent movie, "Spite Marriage." Salutes to the military will be led by Rear Admiral Vance Fry and Mickey McCamish with an Armed Services Color Guard. Soloist will be Margaret Abernathy.

Dr. Schwandt is Director of the American Organ Institute and Associate Professor of Organ at the University of Oklahoma School of Music. He studied at St. Olaf College and Indiana University. He founded the American Organ Institute to preserve the unique American characteristics of the pipe organ.

# PREVIOUS SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS WILL PERFORM ON May 21, 2017

Joshua Coleman, Piano (2102) Patrick Rice, Piano, (2015) Sam Sencabaugh, Flute (2008)

Joshua Coleman studied with Charlynne Fry (his great-aunt), and Dr. Sin-Hsing Tsai. He has received superior awards in competitions and first prize in both the CMC and CMTA auditions. He graduated from UTC Summa Cum Laude and will enter ETSU Medical School in Fall 2017.

**Patrick Rice** studied with Mrs. Alayne Griffin, Dr. Sin-Hsing Tsai, and and Dr. Peter Cooper. He is also studying organ with Judy Glass. In piano competitions Patrick has received many superior awards. He is a student at Southern Adventist University and plays for two church services each week.

Sam Sencabaugh received his Bachelor of Music Performance from UTC with a focus on flute. He has been teaching for four years and also accompanies his students on piano. He has taught at Signal Mountain Middle/High School, Lakeview Middle/High School, and Ringgold Middle School among others.

The 2017-2018 CMC officers will also be installed at the May 21st meeting.

Thanks to all who helped at the April 9th meeting, especially Tom and Coleen Shields who were in charge of the lovely tea that followed the program, and to all CMC members who provided treats.

# TRIBUTE TO EVELYN GIBBS



Beth Foster Long, Evelyn Gibbs, Charlynne Fry, and David Gibbs



Dr. Jeannette Martin and Evelyn Gibbs



Dr. Martin Perez, Evelyn Gibbs, Jeff Scofield, and Dolores Harvey

Chattanooga Music Club P.O. Box 21572 Chattanooga, TN 37424

#### Chattanooga Music Club Officers, 2017-2018, will be installed on May 21, 2017

President	Beth Foster Long
First Vice President (Programs)	Margaret Ann Randolph
Sec. Vice President (Publicity)	Buddy Shirk
Third Vice Presidents (Yearbook)	Gary & Pam Helton
Fourth Vice President (Membership) Charlynne Fry	
Recording Secretary	Victoria Leather
Corresponding Secretary	Lounelle Draper
Treasurer	Dr. Ralph Altman
Historian	Mary Lynn Wilson
Parliamentarian	Marvin Turner
Advisory Board Chair	Pat Starke
Secretary General	Evelyn Gibbs

From Beth Foster Long:

I look forward to an exciting time for the Chattanooga Music Club in this new year. Greetings to the members of such a prestigious organization. Each of you is an integral part, and the new slate of officers asks for your input into making the CMC vibrant and successful.

We have such an impressive history in our musical community, and it is amazing that we award so many scholarships. I'm sure that any of you who attended the Scholarship Recital of 2017 winners on April 9 were impressed by the talent of our local young musicians. Also, on April 9, we honored our own Evelyn Gibbs, who has been such a leader and inspiration in our organization. Evelyn's history and her success in getting our Memorial Auditorium organ completed really should be appreciated by the entire Chattanooga community.