Chattanooga Music Club Iune 2019

www.chattanoogamusicclub.org

President's Post Margaret Ann Randolph

With Beth Long at the helm and the organ committee in charge of the major event, the Chattanooga Music Club celebrated the 100th Anniversary of Armistice Day on November 11th, 2018, at Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Auditorium with a concert including the Chattanooga Symphony Orchestra.

Starting the 2018-19 year with a fun picnic with fun music at Chester Frost Park where Charlynne introduced to us about 15 new members, the fall programs included Portuguese music by a Choro das 3 in Oct. and the Scenic City Chorale, including CMC members, entertained for our December luncheon at First Cumberland Presbyterian.

In January our CMC and MacDowell Club members gave us a delightful Concert at Second Presbyterian. Gerald Peel's inSpirit Men's Chorus performed and insightful program at Christ Church Episcopal in February. In March, Janet Sump organized our Scholarship Auditions and we listened proudly at the winners recital in April, both events at Brainerd United Methodist.

Seven of our former scholarship winners treated us to a marvelous and memorable concert Sunday afternoon at Second Presbyterian. What an array of talented, expert, deserving and maturing musicians we experienced Sunday: Juliette's beautiful tone as she expertly played the Prelude, Sarabande, and Gigue of Bach's Cello Suite in C; Emily's romantic and pianistic interpretations of Chopin Mazurka and a Romance by Sibelius; Sam's many rhapsodic colors on flute in Debussy and Bozzo; Janelle's masterfulness of her horn and music in a Sonata by Heiden; Jake's wonderful voice

(we could have heard more); Tim and Spencer's fabulous performance of the Concerto by DuBois and the smiles in the audience as the sax played with such ease in long difficult passage and gave a great ending to an event to remember. Our former winners gave us reason to be proud of their musicianship as a great finale to an awesome year. Chattanooga is blessed with talent which our Club is helping to promote.

Now, we need larger audiences so that more can enjoy all this talent and appreciate all their gifts (and hard work)!

Jim Bailiff is planning for our programs as we start this new year of CMC.

As incoming President, I feel so fortunate and very grateful to have such a capable and caring Board. Please inform us of any requests and suggestions. Thank you all for giving me this honor and opportunity to serve this great and talented organization.

Most sincerely,

Margaret Ann Randolph

MEMBER NEWS

- New members:
 - Sarah Glenn
 - Jane Reeve Hoseman
- "Thinking of You"
 Mrs. Barbara Kelley
 18 South Sweetbriar Ave.
 Chattanooga, TN 37411



UPCOMING EVENTS

Jim Bailiff

Patriotic Concert

Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Auditorium Thursday, June 27, 2019 7:00 p.m.

Emcee: David Carroll

Color Guard: Chattanooga Fire Dept.
Recognition of all the Armed Services
Silent Film: COPS starring Buster Keaton
Dedicated to the memory of Evelyn Gibbs
whose tireless work helped restore the
Austin Organ.

All who have contributed to the fund will be listed in the printed program.

EVELYN GIBBS ORGAN FUND

Supporting the continued organ concerts of the highest quality using the Austin Pipe Organ at the Chattanooga Soldiers and Sailors Auditorium.

Paypal contributions may be made at http://www.chattanoogamusicclub.org by selecting "donations/purchases."

Current Contributors

- David Gibbs, nephew
- Jim Bailiff
- Pamper Crangle
- Chambliss Company
- Janet Reeve
- Frances M. Parris
- Douglas Kinsey
- Winford H. Long
- Mary Ellen Meloan
- Bobby M. Howell
- Roy Cantu
- Gary R. Helton
- Richard M. Winstead
- Marilyn J. Dammann
- Cheryll H. Smith
- Susan Palmer Pierce
- Vicky Leather

Andrew Schaeffer Organist



A Chicago native, **Andrew Schaeffer** serves as the Director of Music and Organist at Luther Memorial Church in Madison, Wisconsin. He holds degrees from St. Olaf College and Yale University and he is currently a Doctor of Musical Arts candidate in organ at the University of Oklahoma where he studies with Dr. John Schwandt. His research focuses on the role of the pipe organ in American Freemasonry during the first half of the twentieth century.

In addition to his position at Luther Memorial, Schaeffer serves as the Editor-at-Large of *The Diapason*, one of the oldest and largest American journals devoted to organ, harpsichord, and church music. He is married to Jenny, a registered nurse, and together they have one son, Walter.



SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS FOR 2019 PERFORM AT SCHOLARSHIP TEA April 7, 2019

The following scholarships were awarded to graduating high school seniors:

- Admiral Vance & Mrs. Fry (Charlynne)
 Merit Scholarship \$1000
 - ➤ Dominique Odens, soprano
 - ➤ Melissa Ferrel, teacher
- Chattanooga Music Club
 Board of Directors
 Performance Scholarship
 Given in memory of
 Dorothy Price Cobb Martin \$1500
 - Molly Ragon, trumpet
 - > Dr. Erika Schafer, teacher
- Dorothy Price Cobb Martin
 Memorial Scholarship \$1000
- Drs. Hilda and Andres Alisago, Jr. & Friends Scholarship \$1000
 - Lynnae Eads, piano
 - Lou Ann Pope &Dr. Jonathan Jung, teachers
- Opal Rhea Swaity Scholarship \$3000
 - Molly Barclay, alto
 - Dr. Rebecca St. Goar, teacher
- Chattanooga Music Club Scholarship \$5000
 - > Christy Song, violin
 - > Dr. Ann Rylands, teacher

SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS FOR 2019 April 7, 2019



Miss Barclay, Miss Eads, Miss Odens, Miss Song, Miss Ragon

FORMER SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS May 19, 2019



Jake Wallin, Emily Henderson, Janelle Wagoner, Juliette Weaver, Spencer Elliott, Sam Sencabaugh, Tim Hinck

KATHERON LATHAM INSTALLS OFFICERS for 2019 - 2020



Mrs. Latham, Mrs. Randolph, Mr. Bailiff, Ms. Curtis, Mrs. Fry, Mrs. Leather, Mrs. Draper, Dr. Altman

Chattanooga Music Club P.O. Box 21572 Chattanooga, TN 37424

Chattanooga Music Club Officers, 2019 - 2020

President Margaret Ann Randolph

First Vice President (Programs) Jim Bailiff Sec. Vice President (Publicity) **Buddy Shirk** Third Vice Presidents (Yearbook) Jamie Curtis Fourth Vice President (Membership) Charlynne Fry **Recording Secretary** Victoria Leather **Corresponding Secretary Lounelle Draper** Treasurer Dr. Ralph Altman Historian Mary Lynn Wilson Dr. Martin Perez Parliamentarian **Advisory Board Chair Beth Foster Long**